Recent new music obsessions. Thanks 2010.

2+ years later. Sheesh, just call me the most absent-minded and tardiest blogger out there, but let’s be honest, the music scene evolves and updates so much it’s hard enough to keep up with it let alone write and rave about it. So, I spend my days on ONTD and let Pitchfork and Stereogum do most of the hard work for me.

But with Summer music festivals rolling around and my April MCAT looming, why not start up again? (anything to not spend another moment on organic chemistry.)

Here are some of my favorite tracks from recent album releases/leaks that will make your day so much more beautiful. And if you live in Los Angeles I bet you thought that wouldn’t be possible. tsk tsk.

1) I have waited so long for Angus & Julia Stone to release their new album, “Down The Way.” And from the moment I heard the first single from it (“And The Boys”) on KCRW’s Morning Becomes Eclectic months ago I was crawling out of my skin for it’s slow trickle onto the interwebz. Already upon first listen I am enamored with the Aussie brother-sister duo all over again.

+1

Angus & Julia Stone – Big Jet Plane (mp3)

2) Speaking of sophomore releases, I first heard Here We Go Magic when they were on tour with Grizzly Bear and I loved their self-titled album. Haven’t given this new one “Pigeons” the undivided attention it deserves but the single “Collector” has definitely found its way onto my heavy rotation list already, so I have great expectations for when i devote myself to it tomorrow.

Here We Go Magic – Collector (mp3)

3) The Morning Benders are a young Berkeley indie pop quartet. I dare you not to fall in love with them after watching this video. (also, Donnie put it best: “Whoa I was not expecting that voice to come out of that man”) They are a quirky and rather pleasant band who have shared the stage with the likes of The Kooks, MGMT, and The White Rabbits.

4) Two Door Cinema Club are a young Irish three-piece making brilliantly hooky, melodic guitar pop (from clashmusic.com). They are playing at The Troubadour on May 5th, so if you’re in the area and want to start off your Cinco de Mayo with a bang come on down and meet me on the dance floor.

So many great songs I can’t choose just one. Here’s one more from their album “Tourist History”

Two Door Cinema Club – Something Good Can Work (mp3)

Don’t even get me started on the new Joanna Newsom (perfection; epic), Gorillaz, Jónsi, She & Him albums (and the list really does go on). They will have to be saved for another post. Fingers crossed that I get around to this before 2011.

I leave you, however, with a promise that my 2010 Coachella Survival Guide will be posted very soon. It’s a big mofo packed with what I believe are the essentials from most of the artists on the bill. I know I know, I truly am a god among men since I have given you so many wonderful gifts already today.

Also I am contemplating turning this into more than just a blog on music. I haven’t done anything in so long it’s like a fresh start, right? James Michael, you still down for the ride?

xx,
Michelle

2 thoughts on “Recent new music obsessions. Thanks 2010.

Leave a Reply

