August Obsessions

To my hundreds of dear avid readers,

my sincerest apologies for the lack of updates and blogging in this hectic month of August. Between school applications and work and beating out people on Ticketmaster for much sought after Arcade Fire tickets I have been such a wretched lipstick communist. SORRY! But never fear, I have returned with such great treats I can hardly contain myself. So much amazing new music has found its way into my inbox and itunes I have not a clue where to start. So instead, prepare thyself for a mega post of releases from favorites, new and old, to turn the rest of your month into a grade-A scorcher.

Canada’s indie darlings turned stadium-selling-out sweethearts Arcade Fire have returned with their most recent installment, The Suburbs, and it most definitely does not disappoint. They managed to take a subject matter as old and as tired as the mundanity and stifling reality of living in the Suburbs and turn it into something grand and beautiful. My personal favorite off the album has to be “Sprawl II”. It ends the journey through the Suburbs, with its strip malls and modern kids, with a hope for something greater to come. With its almost dancey disco beat, it may seem a little out of place, but I want nothing more than to comply with Regine’s request to “please cut the lights” as we ribbon dance and dream about the bright lights of something better just beyond us.

Arcade Fire – Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains) (mp3)

Ra Ra Riot‘s newest release, The Orchard, is a notable departure from the previous The Rhumb Line album. Gone, for the most part, is the joyous, upbeat pop of yesteryear as we see the band delving into darker themes (as can be expected with the death of their first drummer, John Pike) and paying greater attention to subtle detail. However, with their infectious track “Boy,” amongst a couple others, Ra Ra Riot still takes the time to remind us why we fell in love them in the first place.

Ra Ra Riot – Boy (mp3)

and to make matters even more magical, the geniuses at RAC have blessed this already near perfect tune with their golden touch.

Ra Ra Riot – Boy (RAC remix) (mp3)

I don’t even need to say much about this song , just that Cee-Lo has probably created a major contender for song of the year with this track. “Fuck You” revives classic soul, funk, and 60’s punk with a cheeky twist on things that makes this track impossible to resist.

Cee-Lo Green – Fuck You (mp3)

This album has been YEARS in the making and now Melbourne’s hottest ticket, Miami Horror, has finally released their debut album, Illumination, and boy has it been worth the wait. From its humble roots (Miami Horror started out as one fantastical producer with a synthesizer, Ben Plant) to buzz band and Pitchfork darlings, this group has been holding onto one of the most anticipated electro albums of the past couple months. Pretty much can’t stop listening to “Sometimes” and dancing around my room. It has been floating around for a while now, but if you haven’t heard it yet you are in luck mon petit ami.

Miami Horror – Sometimes (mp3)

Glasser showed up on my radar about 2 years ago when we booked High Places to play at UCLA and Glasser was on the bill to open for them. I went into the show not knowing what to expect from Los Angeles based Cameron Mesirow, and she immediately won me (and the entire audience over) by the end of her enrapturing and ethereal set. I am itching to get my hands on her upcoming Ring, which is being released and limited to 500 copies by True Panther Sounds. Don’t hesitate in reserving yours now here. Glasser’s first single off of the album, “Home,” is a many layered and almost understated thing of beauty. It is filled with lush harmonies, swelling strings, and a plethora of claps, plucks, and drums.

Glasser – Home (mp3)

After Blonde Redhead released 23 in 2007 I was completely beside myself. I have always been enamored, in a bruised knee fashion, with this band and it seemed that they were just going to get better with the passage of time. So, with their recent endeavor, Penny Sparkle, I was expecting to be immediately taken with the album. However, I seem to be finding myself listening to it repeatedly trying to feel the same emotions this band once evoked. The songs are still, true to BR nature, very dark and dreamy and perhaps they just need me to pry myself away and focus long enough to fully appreciate their inherent beauty.

Blonde Redhead – Here Sometimes (mp3)

Enjoy the boundless harvest of my August obsessions and let me know what you think.

xx,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

